1. Monsters 101
    by Cale Atkinson 'Canada'
    Tundra Books
    Aug 04, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Monsters
    Hardcover
    Monsters 101
    by Cale Atkinson 'Canada'
    Tundra Books
    Aug 04, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Monsters
    Hardcover
    Readers who loved Unicorns 101 will love this laugh-out-loud picture book that finally sets the record straight about monsters!

    Monsters! They're so much more than just that scary thing under your bed. Join Professors Vampire, Blob and Werewolf, and their trusty lab assistant--a zombie named Tina--as they reveal eerie and frankly ridiculous monsters facts never uttered outside a crypt! For example:

    Monsters love competitive board game nights!
    Favorite monster foods include clam pudding with fish heads and pickled ant ice cream!
    In addition to cauldrons and spider gardens, monster homes often include homemade collages!
    Werewolves hate the sound of vacuum cleaners!
    Monsters aren't all scary! Try being nice to one for a change! Offer them a compliment!

    Full of eye-popping illustrations and a story with nonstop sidesplitting laughs, plus a removable Professor of Monstrology diploma at the end of the book, Monsters 101 will have children--and adults--eager to enroll, time and time again!
    View this title on BNC CataList
  2. Every Little Letter
    by Deborah Underwood
    Dial Books
    Aug 04, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism
    Hardcover
    Every Little Letter
    by Deborah Underwood
    Dial Books
    Aug 04, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism
    Hardcover
    For fans of The Word Collector and Be Kind comes a story of words, walls, and widening your world, by New York Times bestselling author Deborah Underwood

    Small h has always lived with the other H's in a city surrounded by walls that keep them safe. At least, that's what the big H's say. But one day, a hole in the wall reveals someone new on the other side. When little h and little i meet, they make a small word with big meaning: "hi!" The other H's find out, though. They fill the hole. But it won't be enough to keep these little letters apart--or twenty-four of their newest friends. Every Little Letter shows how even the smallest among us can make a big impact, and how a single act of friendship can inspire whole communities to come together. How do you tear down walls? With words, at first. Then brick by brick.
    View this title on BNC CataList
  3. A Little Book About Opposites
    by Leo Lionni
    Random House Books for Young Readers
    Jun 23, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Concepts / Opposites
    Board book
    A Little Book About Opposites
    by Leo Lionni
    Random House Books for Young Readers
    Jun 23, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Concepts / Opposites
    Board book
    A new board book about opposites for the youngest fans of Leo Lionni--inspired by his bestselling books!

    Up, down (and fast, slow) are simple concepts every child should know. Now little ones can learn about opposites with this playful board book, inspired by the works of legendary children's book author-illustrator Leo Lionni! With sturdy pages and colorful collage-style artwork, this book is perfect for boys and girls ages 0 to 5.

    Other LEO LIONNI'S FRIENDS Board Books:
    A Little Book About Spring
    A Little Book About ABCs
    A Little Book About Colors
    A Little Book About 123s
    View this title on BNC CataList
  4. All Welcome Here
    by James Preller
    Feiwel & Friends
    Jun 16, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Poetry
    Hardcover
    All Welcome Here
    by James Preller
    Feiwel & Friends
    Jun 16, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Poetry
    Hardcover

    With gorgeous multimedia paintings-and-collages by acclaimed artist Mary GrandPre, James Preller'sAll Welcome Here promises to be an evergreen gift picture book for children about to take the big leap into their first days of school.

    The bus door swishes
    Open, an invitation.
    Someone is not sure . . .


    The first day of school and all its excitement, challenges, and yes, anxieties, are celebrated here in connected haiku poems. A diverse cast of characters all start—and finish—their first days of school, and have experiences that all children will relate to.

    View this title on BNC CataList
  5. Big Nate Stays Classy
    by Lincoln Peirce
    Andrews McMeel Publishing
    Jun 02, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Humorous
    Paperback
    Big Nate Stays Classy
    by Lincoln Peirce
    Andrews McMeel Publishing
    Jun 02, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Humorous
    Paperback
    A special hardcover volume including all of the comics from Big Nate: From the Top and Big Nate Out Loud.


    Big Nate is in a class by himself. Middle-grade kids everywhere can relate to Nate as he survives the terrors of sixth grade, facing off against overzealous teachers, under-cooked cafeteria food, and grade-grubbing classmates. Nate may be a troublemaker and the all-time record holder for most detentions in school history, but he gets there in style—taking on everything from glory on the sports field to becoming the lead singer in his friends’ band, with hilariously unexpected results along the way. Grab your backpack and join Big Nate in this extra-amusing collection, as he blazes through the halls of P.S. 38, leaving a trail of destruction, detention slips, and many, many laughs in his wake.
    View this title on BNC CataList
  6. Little White Fish Deep Beneath the Sea
    by Guido Van Genechten
    Clavis
    Jun 19, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Marine Life
    Board book
    Little White Fish Deep Beneath the Sea
    by Guido Van Genechten
    Clavis
    Jun 19, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Marine Life
    Board book

    A new book in the Little White Fish series, which has sold over 600,000 copies in twenty countries!

    How deep is the sea? Little White Fish is curious. But his friends Little Goldfish, Little Turtle and Octopus warn him: the sea is very deep and very dangerous. Yet Little White Fish wants to know...

    An adventurous story about the deep sea for little daredevils ages 2.5 and up

    View this title on BNC CataList
  7. What Is a Family?
    by Annette Griffin
    Familius
    Jul 07, 2020
    JUVENILE NONFICTION / Animals / Baby Animals
    Board book
    What Is a Family?
    by Annette Griffin
    Familius
    Jul 07, 2020
    JUVENILE NONFICTION / Animals / Baby Animals
    Board book

    Ants have a colony.

    Bats have a cloud.

    Chickens have peeps,

    where they can get loud.

    All the way from A to Z, this colorful primer celebrates all kinds of families, giving each animal family a name. With dolphins and their pods, iguanas and their messes, and kitties and their litters, it’s easy to learn about what makes a family . . . well, a family!

    Families are groups that take care of their own.

    They all stick together to help make a home.

    View this title on BNC CataList
  8. How to Doodle Year-Round
    by Kamo
    Tuttle Publishing
    Aug 04, 2020
    JUVENILE NONFICTION / Art / Cartooning
    Paperback
    How to Doodle Year-Round
    by Kamo
    Tuttle Publishing
    Aug 04, 2020
    JUVENILE NONFICTION / Art / Cartooning
    Paperback
    Create simple seasonal and holiday doodles using multicolored pens!

    Want to draw a jack-o'-lantern with a toothy smile? How about a silly Santa out cruising in his sleigh?How to Doodle Year-Round helps you create these sweet and sensational designs—no previous artistic training required!

    Kamo provides hundreds of examples, unlocking the simple secrets to drawing freewheeling, lively and amusing doodles. Unlike fine-art or manga, there are no rules and no art-school techniques to master. All you need is a free hand and a free spirit.

    This book encourages doodlers to pick up a pen and start artfully scribbling whenever and wherever they are. Doodles can be dashed off on a piece of scrap paper or permanently enshrined on a T-shirt, bookmark, invitation or gift.
    View this title on BNC CataList
  9. The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt
    by Riel Nason 'Canada'
    Tundra Books
    Sep 01, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Ghost Stories
    Hardcover
    The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt
    by Riel Nason 'Canada'
    Tundra Books
    Sep 01, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Ghost Stories
    Hardcover
    When you're a quilt instead of a sheet, being a ghost is hard! An adorable picture book for fans of Stumpkin and How to Make Friends with a Ghost.

    Ghosts are supposed to be sheets, light as air and able to whirl and twirl and float and soar. But the little ghost who is a quilt can't whirl or twirl at all, and when he flies, he gets very hot.

    He doesn't know why he's a quilt. His parents are both sheets, and so are all of his friends. (His great-grandmother was a lace curtain, but that doesn't really help cheer him up.) He feels sad and left out when his friends are zooming around and he can't keep up.

    But one Halloween, everything changes. The little ghost who was a quilt has an experience that no other ghost could have, an experience that only happens because he's a quilt . . . and he realizes that it's OK to be different.
    View this title on BNC CataList
  10. The Paper Boat
    by Thao Lam 'Canada'
    Owlkids
    Sep 15, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emigration & Immigration
    Fountas & Pinnell Text Level Gradient WB
    Hardcover
    The Paper Boat
    by Thao Lam 'Canada'
    Owlkids
    Sep 15, 2020
    JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emigration & Immigration
    Fountas & Pinnell Text Level Gradient WB
    Hardcover
    A Kirkus Reviews most anticipated picture book of fall 2020 with starred reviews from Kirkus, Booklist, School Library Journal and the Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books — a heartfelt and personal immigration story, new from critically acclaimed author Thao Lam

    New from Thao Lam, the award-winning author of picture books My Cat Looks Like My Dad, Wallpaper, and Skunk on a String, comes a personal story inspired by her family’s refugee journey.

    In The Paper Boat, Thao’s signature collage art tells the wordless story of one family’s escape from Vietnam—a journey intertwined with an ant colony’s parallel narrative.

    At her home in Vietnam, a girl rescues ants from the sugar water set out to trap them. Later, when the girl’s family flees war-torn Vietnam, ants lead them through the moonlit jungle to the boat that will take them to safety. Before boarding, the girl folds a paper boat from a bun wrapper and drops it into the water, and the ants climb on. Their perilous journey, besieged by punishing weather, predatory birds, and dehydration, before reaching a new beginning, mirrors the family’s own. Impressionistic collages and a moving, Own Voices narrative make this a one-of-a-kind tale of courage, resilience, and hope.
    View this title on BNC CataList

Sign up for our mailing list!

Sign up for top 10 lists, new eligible titles, exclusive contest announcements, and more. You can unsubscribe at any time.


Sign up!